NEXUS Video Production / Animation studio / Directors' Agent

GENERAL PORTFOLIO
Rock, paper, and scissors. They couldn’t be more...Rock, paper, and scissors. They couldn’t be more different if they tried. But despite their differences, they belong together and have become one of the most iconic, and beloved trios the world has ever seen. For Android’s “better together. not the same.” campaign, we told the story of how the these three unlikely friends, who are known for fighting each other, came together and used their differences for good. We all know that scissors beats paper, and that paper beats rock, but in this film we see these differences being used to rescue each other from certain situations. Ultimately, we see that when these totally different individuals come together, they will never be beaten.
The film showcases contributions from over 100 people...The film showcases contributions from over 100 people ranging from architects, engineers and artists, to sound designers and musicians. Johnny Kelly gave them each a scene to film or illustrate / create and, using flipbook-like persistence of vision, merged these stories into one piece. Involving so many contributors based all over the world, from Patagonia to Pittsburgh to Paris, was a logistical feat for Nexus' production team. This approach was a good fit for the project, using Dropbox was the best way to realise a collaboration on this scale. The film highlights a range of techniques from live action (both studio and location), stills photography, 2D animation, 3D animation, illustration, stop motion and even knitting. With so many styles and techniques, Nexus needed to hang the film on a visual framework. Using a series of simple shapes the film guides your eye from start to finish; opening with a rectangular blank piece of paper, and finishing with the circular Dropbox syncing icon. - Full Credits: Client / Dropbox: Kristen Spilman Patrick Rowell Sheila Vashee Julie Herendeen Preston Hershorn Agency / 72andSunny: Chief Creative Officer: Glenn Cole Group Creative Director: Matt Murphy Creative Director/Designer: Robert Teague Creative Director/Writer: Claire Morrisey Sr. Writer: Dave Carlson Designer: Nick Marx Sr. Film Producer: Angelo Mazzamuto Sr. Film Producer: Perrin Rausch Film Producer: Emilie Talermo Group Brand Director: Rhea Curry Brand Director: Shannon Reed Brand Coordinator: Zachary Hill Business Affairs Director: Kallie Halbach Sr. Business Affairs Manager: Lara Drew Business Affairs Coordinator: Calli Howard Business Affairs Coordinator: Michelle Fink Co-Head of Strategy/Group Strategy Director: Bryan Smith Strategy Director: Brooke-Lynn Luat Jr. Strategist: Gigi Braybrooks Film Credits: Design/Production Company: Nexus Director: Johnny Kelly Executive Creative Director: Chris O'Reilly Sr. Producer: Isobel Conroy Production Manager: Lucy Banks Production Manager: Thomas Cullen Studio Director of Photography: Matthew Day Locations Director of Photography: Matthew Fox Project Lead: Elliott Kajdan Project Lead: David Walker Editor (60): David Slade Editor (30): Nick Gartner 3D Animation: Eaton Crous, Joao Monteiro 2D Animation: Tom Bunker, James Hatley Compositing: Bence Varga Compositing: Pete Baxter Post Production: Time Based Arts Compositor: Sheldon Gardner Colorist: Simone Grattarola Music & Sound Design Credits: Human Mix Credits: Formosa Group Mixer: John Bolen, Hermann Thurmann Executive Producer: Lauren Cascio Assistant: Jeff King Lead Contributors: Iain Acton – iainacton.uk Stine Belden Roed – stinestine.no Valerie Berry – valerieberry.com Marc Bouyer – steakollective.net/author/marc/ Nicolas Brantut Dan Burgess – danburgessart.com Nicholas Burrows / Nous Vous – nousvous.eu Tom Bunker – tombunker.tumblr.com Joey Camacho / Raw & Rendered – rawandrendered.com/301-365/ Loan Casanave Ryan Close – ryanjclose.com Isobel Conroy Mark Conroy Matthew Cooper – matthewcooperfilm.com Andrea Cuius / Nocte – nocte.co.uk Jack Cunningham – jack-cunningham.tumblr.com Valentina D'Efilippo – valentinadefilippo.co.uk Sophie Durston – sophiedurston.co.uk Renaud Futterer / Panoply – panoply.cc Julian Glander – julianglander.com Marcin Ignac / Variable marcinignac.com Jamie Jones - whoisjamiejones.com Jean Michel Kajdan Michael Kirkham – michaelkirkham.com Jim LeFevre – jimlefevre.com Luigi Mazzamuto McBess – mcbess.com Cian McLoughlin – cianmcloughlin.com Denise Nestor – denisenestorillustration.com Charlotte Quillet – charlottequillet.blogspot.co.uk Florent Rousseau – florentrousseau.prosite.com Joelle Snaith – behance.net/joellesnaith Joe Sparrow – joe-sparrow.tumblr.com Karolis Strautnekias - strautniekas.com Yuki Sugiyura - yukisugiura.co.uk Javier Tomassi – javitommasi.com Emmanuelle Walker – emmanuellewalker.com Duncan Wilson / Barber Osgerby – barberosgerby.com Industrial Facility — industrialfacility.com M&E — me-me-me.se
Willie Nelson, Coldplay, Chipotle and director Johnny...Willie Nelson, Coldplay, Chipotle and director Johnny Kelly have made a creative alliance with the Chipotle Cultivate Foundation to create BACK TO THE START, a short animated film highlighting the issue of sustainable farming. Chipotle founder Steve Ells met with Johnny Kelly in London to talk about his passionate efforts to source food on a more sustainable and ethical basis. Music legend Willie Nelson, well known for his support of family farmers, was a perfect collaborator for the music. The pace and timeline of the film is captured beautifully in camera using traditional stop frame model animation techniques to track the life of a farmer. Filmed in one sweeping take the film was painstakingly animated over 4-weeks on one large all-encompassing model background. The track has been released on iTunes with 60 cents from every sale going to the Chipotle Cultivate Foundation.
Mind Enterprises’ new single, Chapita, is brought to life...Mind Enterprises’ new single, Chapita, is brought to life by Eran Amir and nexus vr studio in this innovative and colourful VR experience, combining an ambitious 360 storytelling experience with cinemagraphs and clonemotion technology, and employing a pioneering custom built single camera rig. The result is an immersive 360 narrative in which the dancer leads us into a multi-coloured world of choreographed dance loops set against a backdrop of stark contrast that lends a sense of infinite space. From MTV and Music Video Award-nominated videos to this stunning directorial debut, Eran has already captivated a YouTube audience with millions of views on his videos, 500 people in 100 seconds and Black and White (In Colour), to name a few.
Nicolas Ménard has designed, directed and helped develop...Nicolas Ménard has designed, directed and helped develop a campaign of 18x short animations for Groups Discover, a function on Facebook Groups. The films concentrate on three audiences - New Parents, Parent's of Pre-schoolers and College Students. Each short animation tells the story of all the good things that happen when you are in a Group i.e. advice, support and real life help and fun interactions. Nicolas' playfulness, strength of compositions and character design made him the perfect director for this job. He approached the project with a strong sense of story, told using wit and charm in a succinct manner in order to condense the scripts into bitesize pieces.
To celebrate Project Runway’s milestone 10th anniversary,...To celebrate Project Runway’s milestone 10th anniversary, Lifetime, in partnership with Friends of the High Line, will transform a portion of the High Line in New York City into a virtual runway with a dynamic, 20-foot long, interactive installation on the elevated park featuring the stars of the Emmy Award-nominated hit show. Directed by Nexus Interactive Arts’ Evan Boehm the installation features innovative human tracking technology that mixes real-time virtual emotions of Klum, Gunn, Garcia and Kors reacting to passersby as they walk the High Line.
Nexus Interactive Arts collaborated with The New Yorker...Nexus Interactive Arts collaborated with The New Yorker and the illustrator Christoph Neimann, on The New Yorker's annual Innovators Issue, with an augmented-reality (AR) experience triggered by the front and back covers of the print edition — a first for the magazine — and various advertising elements throughout the issue. The covers, designed by Christoph Niemann, bring a bustling subway car and city skyline to life. Niemann, a longtime New Yorker contributor, collaborated with Françoise Mouly, The New Yorker’s art editor, on the project. Christoph worked closely with the Interactive Arts team to design and animate the 3D city and integrate the necessary technology to deliver a really rewarding AR experience. With the May issue of the New Yorker and the app 'Uncovr', you can experience an augmented-reality experience that transforms the printed page into an interactive event that readers can explore. Niemann has embedded hidden surprises within the cityscape that are discoverable by moving and tilting one’s device.
« 1 of 14 »